Rum rocks

The shape of the Rocks is obtained in exactly the same way as they were previously produced from the end of the 1950s. With a natural aroma we obtain the recognizable taste of the past.

Buche Coco

The Buche Coco was created in 1958 in Niel.

Grandfather Frans Nauwelaerts developed the recipe together with his good friend and pharmacist Jef Wege.

The Buche Coco owes its name to the tree trunk-like shape or the previously known product Bûche de Noël.

ABOUT US

The Nauwelaerts family is now in the 3rd generation of confectionery makers.

 

Our vision of the future?  We bring grandfather's authentic recipes back to life and guarantee a superior taste experience, all wrapped up in a fresh, stylish packaging.

Rum rocks
Rum rocks

Rum rocks

Discover the delicious natural flavors of the past in a trendy packaging of today

Buche Coco
Buche Coco

Buche Coco

Discover the 5 original and natural flavors of the one and only Buche Coco

History

1944

It all started in 1944 when grandfather Frans Nauwelaerts founded the company together with great-grandfather Theofiel. However, it didn’t last long, because shortly after the founding, the liberation came. In September 1944, the allied armies passed through the municipality of Niel.

1945

Then activities were resumed, and the company could once again trade in the Rex lemonade that had been taken over at the time and sell beer. Frans was a baker by profession and after his day's work he would bake waffles at night or early in the morning, which he could then sell during his daytime rounds.

1947

Supplies and sufficient sugar were available again, so the confectionery range production was launched. The very first products that the confectioner brought onto the market were marshmallow “bacon”, nougat, and liqueur pralines. The white and pink marshmallow “bacon” (then also known as meskesvlees) was the most popular item.  These were the first steps by confectionery Nilona. The name Nilona came from "Nil" as an abbreviation of the municipal name; "na" as the first two letters of Nauwelaerts and this was coupled with the "o". The brand name "Nilona" was born.

1953

Nilona was damaged by a severe fire that caused major destruction just in the peak season. With the help of all the employees and thanks to their determination, they managed to carry out all the preliminary repairs within eight days, so that production could be resumed.

1954

The first car of Confiserie Nilona.

Frans was able to provide his salesmen with transport that allowed both sales and deliveries to grow.

1955

The Snowballs were added to the range.

These were first of lesser quality until “uncle" Pol Aerts brought a recipe from a fairground in Herentals. With a few adjustments, we were able to offer the best snowballs on the market.

 

 

1958

The confectionery business received a new boost with some new top products such as the “Buche Coco” and the “Rum Rocks”. Together with another manufacturer from Ekeren, we were the only ones distributing these products on the Belgian market.

These successful products also meant that the production area had to be rebuilt.

 

At the end of the 1950s, Nilona was able to start buying and selling confectionery products from other manufacturers. For instance, Nilona had the exclusivity on Tarzan's chocolate cigarettes from Marseille.

In order to further sell their own and other products, representatives were employed to prospect the entire country.

 

1960

Further growth was achieved by the super wholesalers of the time and export sales also increased gradually. As a result, the factory was enlarged two years later by building additional warehouses.

23 December 1960, fate struck: Pol Aerts, brother-in-law who had helped Nilona to flourish and the right-hand man of Frans Nauwelaerts, died in a crash in Herentals as a travelling salesman for the firm.

1964

A new line for the production of snowballs was added 

This new production line proved to be very profitable as Nilona then became the market leader in snowballs and “negerkoppen” for the next 25 years.

1972

The expansions didn’t stop there, as another warehouse had to be added this year. And this is the year that father Theo Nauwelaerts joined the business, taking care of sales.

3 years later, the production of biscuits and nougat was discontinued, the focus remained on the top products such as Snowballs, Buche Coco and Rum rocks.

1989

The sale of by-products became more and more part of the organisation, the new market of cardboard-top candy packaging emerged, and so Nilopack was founded.

1992

Export also becomes increasingly important and due to this growing turnover Theo Nauwelaerts founded Candytrade which could export its products to 20 countries.

 

1996

The confectionery was sold, grandfather Frans was then 73 years old and needed a well-deserved rest. Production was then continued by Ark Royal where it was sold again a few years later but by the early 21st century, Nilona products had disappeared from the scene.

At the same time, the production line of fellow manufacturer "Brigitte" from Ekeren was sold to a confectionery chain from the Netherlands, after which the Buche Coco and the Rum rocks disappeared from the market.

2020

In 2020 Bart Nauwelaerts took over Confiserie Feliz where artisanal sweets were produced After more than 20 years of experience in the confectionery sector, Bart Nauwelaerts and his wife Christel Grijseels joined forces. We saw an opportunity to offer the products of the past again and to revive Confiserie Nilona.

2021

With the move to a new production location in Puurs - St. Amands, Bart and Christel are ready for the future. The new site meets all requirements, which is one of the reasons why we were able to obtain the IFS certificate in 2021.

The new production line will help us to process the volumes for both the Belgian and export markets.

1944

2021

Rochers au Rum

La forme des Rochers est obtenue exactement de la même manière qu'elles étaient auparavant produites à partir de la fin des années 1950. Avec un arôme naturel, nous obtenons le goût reconnaissable du passé.

Buche Coco

Le Buche Coco a été créée en 1958 à Niel.

Le grand-père Frans Nauwelaerts a développé la recette avec son bon ami et pharmacien Jef Wege.

La Buche Coco doit son nom à la forme en tronc d'arbre ou au produit précédemment connu Bûche de Noël.

QUI SOMMES-NOUS

La Famille Nauwelaerts est active dans la confiserie depuis 3 générations.

 

Notre vision d’avenir ?  Nous redonnons vie aux recettes authentiques de nos aïeuls et garantissons une expérience gustative supérieure, conditionnée dans un emballage élégant et attirant.

Rochers au Rum
Rochers au Rum

Rochers au Rum

Découvrez les délicieuses saveurs naturelles d'autrefois dans un emballage tendance d'aujourd'hui

Buche Coco
Buche Coco

Buche Coco

Découvrez les 5 saveurs originales et naturelles du seul et unique Buche Coco

L'histoire

1944

Tout a commencé en 1944, lorsque le grand-père Frans Nauwelaerts porte l’entreprise sur les fonts baptismaux, aux côtés de Théophile, l’arrière-grand-père. L’aventure a tourné court, car peu après la création de l’entreprise survint la libération, et en septembre 1944, les armées alliées traversent la localité de Niel.

1945

Les activités ont pu reprendre, de sorte que le commerce a pu redémarrer pour la limonade Rex, alors reprise,et le négoce de la bière. Frans était boulanger de profession. Après sa journée de labeur, il préparait des gaufres la nuit ou tôt le matin, qu’il pouvait alors aussi vendre durant sa tournée en journée.

1947

Les approvisionnements et le sucre furent à nouveau disponibles en suffisance, permettant à l’assortiment de confiserie de gagner en visibilité. Les tout premiers produits commercialisés par la confiserie étaient les guimauves, le nougat ainsi que les pralines à la liqueur. Les guimauves blanches et roses (également appelées «meskesvlees» à l'époque en Flandre) étaient l'article le plus populaire.  La confiserie Nilona était née. Le nom Nilona provient de "Nil", abréviation du nom de la commune, et de "na", les deux premières lettres de Nauwelaerts, couplées au "o". C’est ainsi que la marque « Nilona » a vu le jour.

1953

Nilona a été marqué par un grave incendie qui a causé d'importants dégâts juste pendant la haute saison. Avec l'aide de tous les collaborateurs et grâce à leur persévérance, ils sont parvenus à effectuer toutes les réparations préliminaires en 8 jours afin que la production puisse reprendre.

1954

Le premier véhicule de la Confiserie Nilona.

Frans a ainsi pu assurer le transport de ses commerciaux, ce qui a permis de développer les ventes et les livraisons.

1955

Les boules de neige ont été ajoutées à la gamme.

Celles-ci étaient au début de piètre qualité. Jusqu'à ce que « tonton » Pol Aerts rapporte une recette d'une kermesse de Herentals. Moyennant quelques adaptations, l’entreprise a pu commercialiser les meilleures boules de neige du marché.

 

1958

La confiserie a reçu un regain d’élan avec de nouveaux produits phares tels que la Buche Coco et les rochers au rhum. Avec un autre producteur d’Ekeren, nous étions les seuls à distribuer ces produits sur le marché belge.

Le succès de ces produits a entraîné cette année-là la nécessité de réaliser des travaux de rénovation de la zone de production.

 

À la fin des années 1950, Nilona a pu commencer à acheter et à vendre des produits de confiserie d'autres fabricants. Nilona avait entre autres l'exclusivité sur les cigarettes au chocolat de Tarzan de Marseille.

Afin de mieux vendre nos propres produits et d'autres, des représentants ont été engagés pour assurer la prospection dans tout le pays.

1960

La croissance s'est poursuivie grâce aux super grossistes de l'époque, les ventes à l'exportation augmentant elles aussi progressivement. Par conséquent, l'usine a été agrandie deux ans plus tard par la construction d'entrepôts supplémentaires.

Le destin frappe un grand coup le 23 décembre 1960 alors que Pol Aerts, le beau-frère qui a contribué à l'essor de Nilona et bras droit de Frans Nauwelaerts, est tué dans un accident à Herentals alors qu’il prospectait au service de la société.

1964

Une nouvelle ligne de production des boules de neige est mise en service.

Elle s’avèrera très rentable, car Nilona deviendra le leader du marché des boules de neige et des têtes de négres pour les 25 prochaines années.

1972

Rien ne semble pouvoir enrayer les développements, car un nouvel entrepôt a dû être ajouté cette même année. Le père Theo Nauwelaerts rejoint l'entreprise dans la foulée pour s'occuper des ventes.

3 ans plus tard, la production de guimauves et de nougats est interrompue, l'accent étant mis sur les produits phares tels que les boules de neige, les Buches Coco et les rochers au rhum.

1989

La vente de produits annexes fait de plus en plus partie de l'organisation, le nouveau marché des sachets cavalier pour bonbons se développe et c'est ainsi que Nilopack est créée.

1992

L'exportation prend également de l’ampleur. Ce chiffre d'affaires florissant encourage Theo Nauwelaerts à fonder Candytrade afin de favoriser l’exportation de ses produits dans 20 pays.

1996

La confiserie a été revendue cette année-là. Le grand-père avait alors 73 ans et pouvait prétendre à une retraire bien méritée. La production a ensuite été poursuivie par Ark Royal, revendue quelques années plus tard. Les produits de Nilona ont toutefois disparu du paysage au début du 21e siècle.

Au cours de cette même période, la ligne de production du collègue fabricant "Brigitte" d'Ekeren a été vendue à une chaîne de confiseries des Pays-Bas, après quoi les Buches Coco et les rochers au rhum ont disparu du paysage du grand public.

2020

C’est en 2020 que Bart Nauwelaerts reprend la confiserie Feliz, au sein de laquelle les sucreries sont produites de manière artisanale. Après plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le secteur de la confiserie, Bart Nauwelaerts et son épouse Christel Grijseels décident de retrousser leurs manches. Nous voyons une opportunité pour proposer à nouveau les produits d’autrefois et insuffler une nouvelle vie à la Confiserie Nilona.

2021

Avec le déménagement vers un nouveau site de production à Puurs - St.Amands, Bart et Christel sont prêts pour l'avenir. Le nouveau site répond à toutes les exigences nécessaires pour pouvoir décrocher le certificat IFS en 2021.

La nouvelle ligne de production nous aidera à traiter les volumes destinés au marché belge et à l'exportation.

1944

2021